Important! Community will be closing.

Please go to gethelp.telkom.co.za
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted

ADSL cuts out at 7pm every night

My ADSL works fine during the day. However every night at almost exactly 7pm the speed drops to almost zero - it can take 40 minutes to open a wikipedia page, and I cannot receive email at all - although I can usually send email quite normally. It comes back on at 5am, and then is perfect through the day. I have even sat up to 5am to test this. My ISP (MWEB) says everything is fine on their end, and Telkom says the line has been tested and is fine - although they only test during working hours, which doesn't really help me. Ports have been refreshed and lines have been swept and nobody can find diddly. Apparently this kind of thing indicates a problem at the Telkom exchange - but they don't seem to know how to deal with it. I have been reporting this for about two months, and the ladies on the helpdesk are great, but all they can do is "escalate the matter to the supervisor", who perhaps one day will "assign a technician". Meanwhile I work from home, and I often have to communicate with clients after hours, and I urgently need a solution that works. Am I the only person in Joburg who is having this mysterious problem? Does anybody out there know how to fix it please?

Highlighted

Re: ADSL cuts out at 7pm every night

[ Edited ]

Hey @wdford

I experienced almost the same problem on my side(i live in Cape Town) and the place i went to fix my problem 

You came to the best place for assistance and advice , Telkom Communtity is already the place to be with great people and Great minds!

Highlighted

Thanks. I went to mybroadband.co.za and saw nothing that could help me. Please could you give me the contact details for Charl?

Highlighted

why dont you just use the 

• Chat to an Agent (an online chat with a Telkom representitive) (it worked perfectly for me)
Highlighted
Established Member