Telkom Community

Get involved. Problem solved.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Established Member
Accepted Solution

Telkom WiFi

What is the Wi-Fi password for my HUAWEI router model HG532f ? Telkom ADSL.  On the bottom of the router it says the password is "admin", but "admin" is too short. My SAMSUNG Galaxy J1 (J100H) smartphone will not accept "admin" as the password to connect to Wi-Fi.

Occasional Contributor

Re: Telkom WiFi

There are normally two passwords:

the router admin password - for changing settings on the router. The default user name is normally 'admin' and password is also.....er .... thats right, normally 'admin' (withoiut the quotes)

then there is the "WLAN" access key - this enables you to connect a wifi device to the router. This requires the router name (SSID) and a WLAN "key". Both are usually at the back of the router.

Established Member

Hi Jkjakes, thanks for your prompt reply. I’m new to this, I only got my Samsung Galaxy J1 smartphone today. I was able to connect to the router from my desktop computer using http: // 10.0.0.2 and changed the password from admin to Llllll111, which is longer than 8 characters. Now my Galaxy smartphone is happy, the password is longer, it now allows me to touch the Connect button. Unfortunately it still does not work, I still cannot connect my Galaxy smartphone to Wi-Fi. It gives an error message “HUAWEI-X4X3M7Y3 Authentication error occurred”. I rebooted everything, my phone, my desktop and the router. No luck. I’m busy googling a SAMSUNG website, trying to find a solution. I really need help. My email address is wegdraai @ vodamail.co.za. Dirk

Occasional Contributor

[ Edited ]

Infuriating inst it, when simple things wont work on you brand new device Man Frustrated

..trying changing the authetication key on the router from AES to TKIP or vice versa. And make sure to select the same type on the tab.

Established Member

[ Edited ]