Important! Community will be closing.

Please go to gethelp.telkom.co.za
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

internet connection with AGP-KW125

At the moment I use clearcom WF-105 unit that connects to internet by cable to computer port and phone. Since I have the AGP-KW125, I cannot, because the supplied cable , computer to phone, charges phone instead of connecting to net!!

What am I doing wrong or do I have the wrong type of phone?

Highlighted
New Contributor

Re: internet connection with AGP-KW125

• @PHB
    The device you specified is a VoIP device. 
    I don't seem to understand what you mean, could you list this for me in the order:

• How is the phone connected?
  • Do you have a VoIP provider?
  • What modem do you use?
  • Has the phone been configured for your VoIP provider? (if point number 3 has been answered as "Yes".)
Highlighted

Haiko, thanks for answering! I am a novice to computering and appreciate your taking me under your wing.

I do not know what a volp device is

My phone is connected by usb cable , phone to computer provided in the package

My computer is a in a gigabite chassis with windows 7.

My modem is a USB modem Telkom internet

I am not configured to volp provider, I do not know how to. 

I am sorry if I sound stupid maybe I am at 86 years

Highlighted
New Contributor

[ Edited ]

@PHB
Alright this cleared up a few things.

First off;
VoIP is basically Voice over Internet Protocol, meaning that it uses the internet to make calls, I see now that this phone is indeed VoIP capable, but it also has use for a sim card. 

This is, essentially, a glorified immobile cellphone. 

Insert sim, type in pin, if it asks for a passkey or passphrase it's 1122 and you should be able to call from it as if it was a regular phone. 

Highlighted