Welcome to the
Telkom Community

Get involved. Problem solved.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

500GB NightSurfer throttled?

I have the SmartBroadband 30GB LTE, and I activated the "500GB for R50" on the 22nd July...

Ever since I activated the 500GB, I have noticed my download speed is never above 100KB/s... during night Surfer.

I usually wake up 4am to do online courses and suddenly, the 15min video takes 25min because of buffering...

I tried downloading some software (1.7GB) at 04:35 and the peak speed was 68kb/s... 100Mb of Windows2012 update took 48min.

I downloaded the same software at 15:15 and the peak speed was 716kb/s, lowest was 388Kb/s...

Before you ask, I work in IT: Network, Voice, so I did restart, reset, reconfig, swapout but still I get the same response.

I spoke to Telkom's customer care... and I am now waiting up to 72hrs for Networks to response.

Am I the only one experiencing this problem?

Re: 500GB NightSurfer throttled?

I have had mine for a week and have not experienced any throttling. Basically the same speed as during the day. Check your router settings.

I have had mine for a week and get between 1.8  and 2.2 MB per second downloads, which translates to about 18Mb/s connection speed. So pretty much same as my daytime speed. I've used about 200Gb already. 

Check your router settings.

Hi...

Which router are you using?

I am using the Huawei B593, its about 4yrs old now.

Highlighted

Same issue here (only started recently). We hardly ever use night surfer data but in the last week suddenly our LTE appears to get switched off just after midnight and it comes on again at around 4ish. 

My 500GB expired on the 25 August. since then, my speed is back to normal.

I am getting download speed of 2.5Mb/s... Mornitored this around 04:00.

I will never activate it again.

The other reason... you can start using it after you used all your normal night-Surfer.

I have 50GB ! ! !

I am having very much the same problem.