Telkom Community

Get involved. Problem solved.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted
Established Member

FIXED LINE LOOK ALIKE - internet connection

In the middle of experiencing my second outage of telkom landline and once again expecting a 3 week delay and multiple visits to the telkom store as I cannot phone using the landline. The only reason i got the line was for internet acess which is also now affected.

Has anyone changed from copper to the Fixed Line Look Alike recently, and can you share your experience with regards to internet connectivity and speed?

And would you recommend this as a better option than copper (fibre is not an option as no telkom coverage)?

Highlighted

Re: FIXED LINE LOOK ALIKE - internet connection

I was moved wth my smarthome package from copper to lookalike(WCDMA) about 10 days ago because Telkom's copper infrastructure (UG cable) was too faulty to support any quality data connection. 

I worked as an exchange technician and later ops manager for 25 years at Telkom and I am disgusted at how customers are treated and the pathetic service they provide. They need to read their Terms of service and agreement - seriously!

I had the lookalike "working" for 10 days, but with continuous disconnections and resetting of the intenet. The line was unable to maintain a connection and also when tested there was packet loss and latency and jitter that was way out of acceptable norms. The comany who tested it on line evaluated it as a D grade service. This was reported to Telkom on 16/3 and is yet unresolved by faults.